top of page

It can hardly get worse...


In this beginning year, after having heard so many times « it can hardly get worse » (mmm… really ?) I felt like going back to basics, to those simple things we can do - and that we tend to forget - that can significantly improve our lives.

Here is what Fanette – my other mother – said to me when I was eight years old and was grumbling about something I didn’t have:

“Chilina, instead of looking at what you don’t have, look at what you do have.”

I told you it was simple! And yet, I can still remember the exact moment and place where she said this, and the powerful internal shift created by the insight her words triggered. I realized I took for granted everything I had, that I didn’t even see it: what I had was “normal” and thus held no interest whatsoever. So when I took a conscious look at all those things I had, it was as if I saw them for the very first time!

Since that day, I have (almost) always seen the glass half full, rather than seeing it half empty, and say “Thank you” everyday for what I have.

Shall we take a look at the year that has just passed in this perspective? Maybe 2013 wasn’t so bad after all:

  • What were the best things that happened in 2013, and what did you like about them?

  • What were the worse things that happened, what did you lean from them and how did they make you progress?

And all along this new year, let’s make a conscious effort to:

  • Notice all that is positive and joyful in our life

  • Be grateful for what we have

  • Look for what is useful or positive in what is negative or painful

Happy New Year !

Latest article
Recent articles
Pas encore de mots-clés.
    bottom of page